The Canadian Rockies

One of my hobbies is backpacking.  I love to backpack, but I’m kinda a sissy.  I’m a pack mule.  Give me a 50 lb. pack and flat land and I can pack it 15+ miles in a day.  As soon as the elevation starts to gain, I want nothing to do with it.  Last summer I went on a backpacking trip with my brother in the North Cascades in Washington.  It was a beautiful trip, most of the trail was along a river, it crossed it several times, and ended next to several glacier carved lakes.  However, in 1.5 miles the trail gained 2,500 ft. in elevation.  Not much fun in my book, but time with my brother was worth it.

I couldn’t help thinking about that trip while we drove through the Canadian Rockies the past few days.  We drove through Revelstoke, Glacier, Yoho, and Banff National Parks – it was amazing.  It brought the Third Day song “These Thousand Hills” to mind:

These thousand hills roll ever on
Footprints of a Mighty God
They bring me to my knees in praise
Amazing love, amazing grace

Here are a few pics.

Andy for Mustard Seed Ministries

One Response

  1. Looks simply majestic…I am jealous. I hope you have thrown a pole in some of those waters. No good traveling ministry can really be like Jesus unless there’s some fishing going on.

Leave a Reply

