A.C.

A.C.My heart just cannot but thank my Jesus for saving this man’s life.  I had a chance to talk with A.C. for a while today and was totally captured by his jolly little self.

Just a few years ago he was sleeping in a dog house addicted to crack.  This took 20 years of his life, his family, and any credibility he had with society.  He weighed 90 lbs and referred to himself as a walking skeleton.  Until David and Amy Lancaster came into his life and started loving on him.  He would cuss them out after recieving socks, underwear and food from them and they would keep pressing in and loving.  One day he was walking around the neighborhood, as he was normally found doing, cracked out and he started hearing this voice in his head, saying, “It is time” over and over again.  He could not make it go away and finally went to the Lancaster’s house to seek help.  Amy and her daughter, Olivia, listened to him and suddenly Olivia broke down in tears and said to A.C., “A.C., God is telling you it is time to give your life to Him!  It is time!”

From that point until now, A.C. has found Jesus, has gained about 75 lbs, is clean and sober and cooks breakfast for the local shelter every morning.

While I talked to him today he shared with me how he became addicted to crack and it was a story straight out of Proverbs:

“I saw among the simple,
I noticed among the young men,
a youth who lacked judgment.He was going down the street near her corner,

walking along in the direction of her house

at twilight, as the day was fading,
as the dark of night set in.

Then out came a woman to meet him,
dressed like a prostitute and with crafty intent.

(She is loud and defiant,
her feet never stay at home;

now in the street, now in the squares,
at every corner she lurks.)

She took hold of him and kissed him
and with a brazen face she said:

“I have fellowship offerings at home;
today I fulfilled my vows.

So I came out to meet you;
I looked for you and have found you!

I have covered my bed
with colored linens from Egypt.

I have perfumed my bed
with myrrh, aloes and cinnamon.

Come, let’s drink deep of love till morning;
let’s enjoy ourselves with love!

My husband is not at home;
he has gone on a long journey.

He took his purse filled with money
and will not be home till full moon.”

With persuasive words she led him astray;
she seduced him with her smooth talk.

All at once he followed her
like an ox going to the slaughter,
like a deer stepping into a noose

till an arrow pierces his liver,
like a bird darting into a snare,
little knowing it will cost him his life.”

A.C. was approached by a woman to try something new.  So, he tried it and was instantly addicted to whatever IT was. The first hit was free but by the end of the day, he was with the woman and had wasted $1200.  He was tricked by the devil.

The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.”  John 10:10

A.C. has been brought back to life by Jesus Christ, praise the Lord!!  These stories give me Hope in this broken world.  So many people have been lured by the Thief with drugs, money, sex, the American dream, security, pension plans, popularity, and so many other things.  These things cannot satisfy the spirit in us who craves the only One who brings Life.

Thank you Jesus for A.C.’s beautiful testimony and thank you for your Love that beckons us to Life.

Seren

3 Responses

  1. Wow, That is wonderful news about A.C.
    Thanks for doing what you are doing and allowing God to work through you on this journey!
    love,
    Dad

  2. What an incredible God story! I LUV it… keep strong my sista and keep on bringin’ the Good News! The Thief is not so happy that you’re out there “doin’ your thang”! But I sure am 🙂

  3. […] was the “worst” story you heard from a homeless individual?”  I told them about A.C. from Jackson and how he had been addicted to crack cocaine, but Jesus had spoken to him and he had given his […]

Leave a Reply

