Learning how to jump again

We have now been back in Hubbard, OR for almost 2 weeks.  The first week was a whirlwind of getting our house in order, cleaning out Big Buster, Andy figuring out a teaching position back at Woodburn High School, visiting friends and neighbors,  the 4th of July celebrations and Eva’s 3rd birthday.  We were running on the adrenaline and excitement of being back “home”.  Our bodies finally began crashing at the beginning of this week as our tasks slowed down.  Our hearts and minds have now begun processing the idea that we are back in a way of life that is not always traveling, meeting new people, and experiencing new things.

We believe, without a doubt, that God has meant all along to bring us back here.  These were NOT our plans, as many of you know- we tried to sell and rent the house for quite a long time, but no bites.  Yet, God, provided mortgage payments, school loan payments and then enough for us to stay on the road for 1 year.  We serve an amazing God who directs our paths and honors us as we attempt to honor, point, and glorify Him.  We did not think that we would be back in this house, but God did.  We praise Him for knowing the plans He has for us!

So now what do we do?  We know God has asked us to take this summer to rest, pray, and prepare us for the next venture He has for us.  This venture involves taking all that we have learned, all the love He has given us, and all the confidence He has built in us over the last year, and putting  it towards freeing the captives in Hubbard, OR.  Wow.  That all sounds wonderful, Lord, and I know you can do impossible things through me and my family, but how in the world?!!!!  There are moments when this next season feels crazier than selling everything, buying an RV, and traveling across America to preach the Gospel with our three children.

I process things much differently than Andy.  I am much more of an internal processor, he is external.  He is a man, I am a woman.  Enough said.  This week has been a good week for the two of us as we try and communicate as best we can and giving each other grace while we do our thing.  Right now, I feel like I have jumped off a trampoline that I’ve been playing on for the last year.  You know how it feels after jumping off a trampoline.  Gravity feels much stronger than ever and jumping seems nearly impossible.  So as I sit in my thuddy-ness, I have heard a whisper from the Lord saying, “Now I will teach you how to jump, like you did on the tramp, in this way of life.  But it is only possible with Me.  It will look different and feel different, but that is what makes it exciting.  Do not despair.”

To be honest with all of you, I don’t feel like I belong here anymore.  Maybe that is a good thing, maybe not.  I love all my friends and family here but I have developed a love for the kind of adventure that we found on the road- even though it was hard and exhausting at many times.  I am now asking for my Father to give me a new love and vision for the adventure He has for us here.

As of now, we will begin organizing times of prayer, here at our home with those who desire to join us in this love battle for this area of the country.  Of the many things we have learned while on the road, prayer was one of the biggest and most powerful tools He began teaching us to use.  I can’t imagine going into battle without knowing the enemies ways, the people we are fighting for, or the tactics our Leader intends for us to use.  The battle belongs to our Lord and we intend to go to Him for information and direction.  Please join us as we continue to pursue Jesus and His Love for His children.  And please keep our family in prayer as we continue to process and learn how to jump again.

Serenity

2 Responses

  1. Great post, Seren. I can’t really imagine, but I can try to… It must be so strange to be back home after all you’ve experienced and all that God has taught you. I’m actually really encouraged to hear that you don’t really feel like you fit in there anymore… I think that’s totally a God thing. It means that you have been “sensitized” by the Lord! You will be able to see things in a new light… with the guidance of your Father.
    I just know God will continue using you and Andy for Him.
    We’ll be praying for you. Love your updates!
    Libby & Terry

  2. You are all soooo loved Serenity. God’s goodness surrounds you. Even now, when you feel as though you are unsure of your footing, He is helping you. Continue to sit with Him for awhile, stand when you sense the Holy Spirit directing you on your feet, and be ready to begin jumping again. He is the good Shepherd who has led you back and is continuing to lead you. XXXXOOO Shelly

Leave a Reply

