I work at a public high school

I had the opportunity to share at the school I work at, Woodburn Academy of Art, Science and Technology (WAAST).  All together I think there were about 300+ students and 25 or so teachers.  A month or so ago I was invited by the principal to share about our journey these past few years.  She had read the article about what God had done in our lives in HomeLife Magazine and had though that our story would be good to share with the students.  I work at a public high school.

To make sure she wasn’t going to lose her job I asked to meet with her this past week so she knew what she was getting into.  I made it clear that if I was going to share about my family and I, I would be denying the most influential and important part of us if I didn’t mention Jesus Christ.  She said she was fine with that.  Again, I work at a public high school.

So this past Wednesday I got up in front of these students and shared the simple Gospel.  I told them that Serenity and I had struggled through some really tough questions the past few years.  Questions that shook the foundations of the consumeristic and materialistic life we had been living as rich Christians.  Questions that were presented to us by the Holy Spirit.  I shared about how we took these questions to the Scriptures and found that over 300 times God specifically mentions that we should treat the poor with kindness, grace and love.  That we should hold our possessions with an open hand because our treasure is in Heaven not in storehouses on this earth.  Then I shared the following scriptures:

I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me. – Matthew 25:40

He who has two tunics, let him give to him who has none; and he who has food, let him do likewise. – Luke 3:11

Learn to do good;
Seek justice,
Rebuke the oppressor;
Defend the fatherless,
Plead for the widow.

Isaiah 1:17

I shared about how Scriptures like these convicted us to change our lives to live lives closer to the heart of Jesus.  One that calls His disciples to care about the “least of these.”  Remember, this is a public high school.

I showed the video I had made.  Then opened it up for questions.  The questions were from the heart.  The teachers and students asked questions like, “what was the “worst” story you heard from a homeless individual?”  I told them about A.C. from Jackson and how he had been addicted to crack cocaine, but Jesus had spoken to him and he had given his life to Christ.  I told them about the local park in Boston where gang members had been killed a few weeks earlier and needed a little bit of Jesus.

The response was amazing.  About a dozen students randomly approached me over the past couple of days and asked if they could volunteer in some way for us.  About six or so students commented about the presentation on my Facebook wall.  Here is what a couple had to say:

“[the presentation] was amazing vato! Real inspiration, changed my mind about a lot of things! And your family was also very inspiring! See ya tomorrow hombre!”

“It really makes me open my eyes to how spoiled we are and take life for granted… Thanks so much for this!”

These kids so want to hear about Jesus!  I’m so excited about the doors Christ is opening to me in this “new” mission field.  I can’t shove the Gospel down their throats or ask for an alter call after they turn in their World War I homework (which isn’t my style anyway), but I can tell them about what Christ has done for me when they ask – and the kids are asking.  Praise be to God!

3 Responses

  1. Yes, praise Jesus!

  2. WOW! as Carl would say, can you say that backwards this time? WOW!

    God is good and we share in your excitement and awe of what He is doing right now in the heart of the next generation! Can’t wait to see pix of your Food Pantry filled with HS students that are learning what it truly means to love one another 🙂

    love you guys!

    Mike and Laura

    p.s. Britton wants you to know that she thinks your new baby Lucy is very cute. Especially when she is smiling 🙂 Anders asked me today if you named your baby girl after our cat, Lucy!!! Ha Ha Ha — gotta love kids!

  3. I’m learning the same lessons you describe in this article. My house was just robbed. The crooks took our belongings but I keep going back to memories of The Pineapple Story. Thanks for your ministry and for writing about it.
    Sam

Leave a Reply

